13 Lawmakers boycott Ondo House of Assembly

OrijoReporter.com, Hon. Jumoke Akindele

Lawmakers in the camp of impeached speaker, Hon. Jumoke Akindele boycotted the Ondo State House of Assembly, which re-opened yesterday.

Plenary session, which commenced by 11:36am, was attended by 12 of the 26 lawmakers and was presided over by Malachi Coker and the other two new principal officers that were elected after the Friday, January 27 leadership crisis.

It was gathered that the sitting was scheduled to commence by 8:00am.

But it was delayed till late in the morning as the workers, who resumed had to do a thorough clean up following the closure of the chamber for seven weeks by officers and men of the Nigeria Police Force as a result of the Leadership crisis in January.

However, all the 13 lawmakers loyal to the impeached Speaker, Jumoke Akindele were nowhere to be found in the assembly.

Meanwhile, the new Majority Leader, Olamide George said the impeachment of the former leadership of the House was owing to the allegations that they withdrew N15 million without due process and parliamentary resolution.

The lawmakers maintained that the election of Coker, George and Ayodeji Arowele as the duly elected Speaker, Majority Leader and Deputy Speaker of the Ondo State House of Assembly respectively was final.

Sign up for our daily newsletter

Get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox every day. Stay informed with the Orijo Reporter's leading coverage of Nigerian and world news.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here