Akeredolu wins APC ticket


Ondo governor Rotimi Akeredolu has emerged as the flag-bearer of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in the upcoming October 10 governorship election in the state.

Akeredolu won landslide polling 2,725 out of the 3,127 votes of the delegates in the indirect primary.

Olusola Oke came second with 262 votes while lsaacs Kekemeke came a distant third with 19 votes at the poll held on Monday at the international Event Centre, the Dome in Akure, the state capital.

Eight aspirants contested the election after four stepped down for the incumbent governor.

The aspirants include the incumbent governor Rotimi Akeredolu, Olusola Oke, Olayide Adelami, Isaacs Kekemeke, Jumoke Anifowose, Sola Iji, Awodeyi Akinsehinwa and Bukola Adetula. Four aspirants stepped down for the incumbent governor Rotimi Akeredolu before the election.

Sign up for our daily newsletter

Get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox every day. Stay informed with the Orijo Reporter's leading coverage of Nigerian and world news.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here