Akpabio names lawmakers awarded NDDC contracts


The Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio, has released names of lawmakers, who the Niger Delta Development Commission, NDDC, awarded contracts to.

An investigation into alleged billions naira fraud in NDDC by the House of Representatives committee on the commission has pitted the House against Akpabio.

Tension escalated during a public hearing of the investigative panel, which was set up to probe the corruption allegations against Akpabio and members of the Interim Management Committee (IMC) of the NDDC following claim by the minister that members of the national assembly were the greatest beneficiaries of the Commission’s projects.

The former governor said about 60 percent of contracts were awarded to the lawmakers, prompting the Speaker of the green chamber, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila to order him to substantiate his allegation within 48 hours by releasing names of the beneficiaries.

After the expiration of the ultimatum, the House announced its plan to sue the minister for perjury.

Akpabio, according to Punchng.com, has named names of National Assembly members who were given contracts by the NDDC.

On the list, the report said, is ex-Chairman, House of Representatives Committee on the NDDC, Mr Nicholas Mutu, who represents the Bomadi/Patani Federal Constituency of Delta State with 74 projects, including various emergency road projects in Delta, Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa and Rivers states, listed against his name.

Others include: the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Niger Delta Affairs, Senator Peter Nwaoboshi, Senator Matthew Urhoghide, Senator James Manager and Senator Samuel Anyanwu with multiple projects allegedly awarded them.

Sign up for our daily newsletter

Get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox every day. Stay informed with the Orijo Reporter's leading coverage of Nigerian and world news.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here