Akpabio releases more names of NDDC contract beneficiaries


The Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Senator Godswill Akpabio, has again raised the curtain on some VIPs including lawmakers, who the Niger Delta Development Commission, NDDC, awarded contracts.

Akpabio is under pressure to name names of lawmakers, who got contracts from the NDDC after he partly imputed corruption sin in the commission while appearing before a House of Representatives investigative panel, investigating alleged fraud in NDDC to the lawmakers themselves.

On the fresh list entitled: ‘Some Niger Delta Development Commission Contracts Allegedly Given to Some Members of the National Assembly (Senate and House of Representatives),’ gave names of the awardees as two former governors of Delta State, James Ibori and Emmanuel Uduaghan with both linked to various contracts, according to Punchng.com citing the document submitted to the Speaker, House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, on July 23.

Others the report said are: the Chief Whip of the Senate, Senator Orji Uzor Kalu, and Senator Ifeanyi Ararume.

On initial list released by the minister are: ex-Chairman, House of Representatives Committee on the NDDC, Mr Nicholas Mutu, the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Niger Delta Affairs, Senator Peter Nwaoboshi, Senator Matthew Urhoghide, Senator James Manager and Senator Samuel Anyanwu with multiple projects allegedly awarded them.


Sign up for our daily newsletter

Get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox every day. Stay informed with the Orijo Reporter's leading coverage of Nigerian and world news.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here