APC announce Edo, Ondo governorship primary dates


The All Progressives Congress, APC, has announced dates for the conduct of its governorship primaries in both Edo and Ondo States.

Governors Godwin Obaseki and Rotimi Akeredolu both elected in Edo and Ondo respectively on APC platform are seeking re-election with the party’s primaries in both states looking ominous given the spate of acrimonies rocking the ruling party in their respective states.

In a statement the APC National Organizing Secretary, Emma Ibediro, released on Tuesday, it fixed June 22 for the primary in Edo State while that of Ondo will be held on July 20.

Each aspirant is expected to pay a cumulative cost of N22.5m for nomination and expression of interest forms.

In a related development, the Independent Electoral Commission, INEC, said the September 19 and October 10, 2020 scheduled for both states’ elections are a fait accompli amid the coronavirus outbreak.

“The commission reiterated its commitment to conduct the Edo and Ondo governorship elections September 19 and October 10, 2020 as contained in the timetable and schedule of activities released on February 6, 2020.

“We reassure Nigerians of our resolve and determination to provide the requisite guidance, innovation and leadership in conducting elections in the context of the COVID -19 pandemic,” according to a statement INEC National Commissioner and chairman of its Information and Voter Education Committee, Festus Okoye, released on Tuesday.

Sign up for our daily newsletter

Get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox every day. Stay informed with the Orijo Reporter's leading coverage of Nigerian and world news.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here