COVID-19: Don’t visit Kogi, PTF warns Nigerians


The Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19 has issued advisory warning to non-residents of Kogi against visiting the state in order to avoid contracting COVID-19.

PTF on Monday sounded this warning after the state government remained adamant in its stance that COVID-19 did not exist.

It said, the state had failed to report testing, lacked isolation centers and therefore warned Nigerians to be weary of visiting the state.

This was according to the National Incident Manager (NIM) of the PTF COVID-19 pandemic, Dr Mukhtar Muhammad.

Muhammed said having analysed the pandemic in the country, 22 high burdened Local Government Areas within 13 states in the country had been identified saying, “Notable among the states are Yobe, Jigawa, Zamfara and Kebbi and of course Kogi that has not been reporting at all.

“States that are not testing are probably at much more higher risk than the states that are currently known as high burdened states.

“A state that is not testing at all is an absolute high risk for Nigerians to visit because, there is no testing facility and even if you fall sick, there is no isolation center and they don’t even acknowledge that the disease exists. So for that reason, we put that state at the top of high risk states.”

He listed the states and local governments as Nkanu West (Enugu); Abuja Municipal (FCT); Gwagwalada FCT; Gombe (Gombe); Chikun (Kaduna); Kaduna North; Kaduna South; Nassarawa (Kano); Katsina (Katsina); Ilorin South (Kwara); Ilorin West (Kwara); Eti-Osa (Lagos); Ikeja (Lagos); Kosofe (Lagos); Lagos Mainland (Lagos); Keffi (Nasarawa); (Lafia) Nasarawa; Ibadan North (Oyo); Jos North (Plateau); Jos South (Plateau); Port-Harcourt (Rivers); and Wamako (Sokoto).

Sign up for our daily newsletter

Get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox every day. Stay informed with the Orijo Reporter's leading coverage of Nigerian and world news.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here