Kwankwaso, Melaye, 13 other APC Senators join PDP


President of the Senate Bukola Saraki has announced the defection of 13 senators elected on the platform of the All Progressives Congress to the Peoples Democratic Party.

Read Also: (Interview) Osun governorship election: Saraki backs PDP candidate to win

The Senate president whose resident was laid siege to by security agencies to prevent him from attending today’s plenary reportedly sneaked into the National Assembly where he read out the defectors’ names that include former Kano governor Rabiu Kwankwaso and Senator Dino Melaye on the floor of the House.

The others are: Adesoji Akanbi (Oyo-South), Monsurat Sunmonu (Oyo-Central), Rafiu Ibrahim (Kwara-South), Suleiman Hunkuyi (Kaduna-North), Lanre Tejuoso (Ogun-Central), Usman Nafada (Gombe), Ibrahim Dambaba (Sokoto), Mohammed Shittu (Jigawa) Isa Misau (Bauchi) Suleiman Nazif (Bauchi) Shaaba Lafiagi (Kwara) and Barnabas Gemade (Benue).

Also, Senator Abdul-Azeez Murtala-Nyako (Adamawa) who had earlier dumped the APC for the African Democratic Congress, also formalised his defection.

Sign up for our daily newsletter

Get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox every day. Stay informed with the Orijo Reporter's leading coverage of Nigerian and world news.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here