Ondo APC lawmakers against Dep Gov’s impeachment face dismissal

OrijoReporter.com, Ondo APC lawmakers

Ondo lawmakers elected on the platform of the All Progressives Congress, APC, who are not malleable to the impeachment of the Deputy Governor, Agboola Ajayi, face dismissal from the party.

READ ALSO: Akeredolu wants ex-SSG investigated over electoral fraud slur

Agboola is at loggerheads with Gov. Rotimi Akeredolu and has defected to the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, where he is hoping to be the party flag-bearer in the upcoming governorship election.

Coming on the heels of his defection, fourteen lawmakers out of the 26 in the House of Assembly signed the impeachment notice against the deputy governor, citing gross misconduct, abuse of office, plot to bring down the government, financial recklessness, abandonment of official duties and carrying out actions likely to cause the breach of peace.

Six of the nine lawmakers openly averse to the deputy governor’s removal are of the APC, a situation militating against the two-third majority needed to bring the impeachment move to fruition.

The ruling party hierarchy have found the position of the six lawmakers repulsive and were said to be considering using the big stick by way of dismissing them from the party.

The pro-Ajayi lawmakers include the Deputy Speaker, Iroju Ogundeji, Jamiu Suleiman Maito, Rasheed Elegbeleye, Tomide Akinrinbodo, Samuel Ademola, Favour Semilore Tomomewo, Festus Akingbaso

Others are: Adewale Adekunle and Torhukerhijo Success.


Sign up for our daily newsletter

Get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox every day. Stay informed with the Orijo Reporter's leading coverage of Nigerian and world news.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here